Municipal government

Mayor of LaGrange inducted into Georgia Municipal Government Hall of Fame

LaGrange Mayor Jim Thornton was inducted into the Georgia Municipal Government Hall of Fame on Monday, June 27 at GMA’s annual convention in Savannah.

Mayor Thornton served as GMA President for the 2021-2022 year. He served on the GMA Board of Directors and previously chaired the Legislative Policy Council, Federal Policy Council, Member Services Advisory Council and Municipal Government Policy Committee. Thornton was also named co-chair of the GMA Equity and Inclusion Commission.

“It has been a great honor and privilege to lead the municipal association and serve the cities of Georgia,” said Mayor Thornton. “Georgia is our nation’s largest state, thanks in large part to the strength and vitality of its cities, including LaGrange, which continue to lead the state into a more prosperous future.”

Mayor Thornton was elected to the LaGrange City Council in 2009 and after serving a full term on council was elected Mayor in 2013. Thornton remains active in his church at LaGrange First United Methodist Church and serves as chancellor of the annual conference of the North Georgia, making him the primary legal adviser to the United Methodist Bishop of Atlanta.

The GMA Municipal Government Hall of Fame recognizes municipal officials who have made extraordinary contributions to municipal government and who have been a strong supporter of the GMA. Elected and appointed municipal officials with at least fifteen years of service in municipal government in Georgia are eligible.

The Georgia Municipal Association advocates for cities across the state and provides training and resources for municipal leaders.


City Menus would like to note that Carrollton City Mayor Betty Cason is pictured with LaGrange Mayor Jim Thornton. Ms. Cason was recently elected Vice President of District 4 of the Georgia Municipal Association. To read more about this article, click here.